Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Resignations and Political Instability

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Resignations

The political landscape in Pakistan has been shaken by a series of resignations within the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party led by Imran Khan. These resignations have significantly impacted the party’s leadership and overall structure. The departures began with the resignation of Shireen Mazari, a former minister and close aide of Khan, who strongly condemned the violent actions of the party’s supporters. Mazari announced her retirement from active politics, citing the detrimental effects on her health and family. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Resignations

Leadership Crisis Hits PTI Party: Key Figures Resign

Shortly after, Fawad Chaudhry, a former federal minister and a prominent figure within PTI, and Asad Umar, the ex-finance minister and secretary general of PTI, also tendered their resignations. Both Chaudhry and Umar had previously been arrested in connection with charges related to public order offenses during the May 9 protests. Chaudhry emphasized his condemnation of the violence and expressed his support for the Pakistan Army, while Umar highlighted the dangerous implications of the incidents for the country.

These resignations have come when PTI faces numerous challenges, including legal disputes and ongoing confrontations. Imran Khan has accused unidentified forces of pressuring party members to leave without specifying who is behind these alleged actions. Meanwhile, PTI’s lawyer has indicated that any potential ban on the party would be challenged in court, underscoring the determination to resist such measures.

Resignation of other PTI’s leadership 

Renowned singer and former Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) member, Abrarul Haq, expressed regret for his participation in a London concert amid the ongoing political situation in Pakistan, shortly after resigning from politics. The singer faced online criticism for his involvement in the event immediately after parting ways with PTI.

Several PTI leaders, including Shireen Mazari, Aamir Mehmood Kiani, Malik Amin Aslam, and Fayyazul Hassan Chohan, have publicly denounced the attacks on state installations and announced their departure from the party since the May 9 vandalism. Defence Minister Khawaja Asif mentioned the government’s consideration of imposing a ban on PTI due to evidence suggesting coordinated attacks by its supporters on public properties and military installations.

List of a large number of PTI lawmakers who resigned

  • Aftab Hussain Saddique
  • Aftab Jehangir
  • Ali Amin Khan
  • Ali Nawaz Awan
  • Aliya Hamza Malik
  • Asad Qaiser
  • Asad Umar
  • Ataullah
  • Faheem Khan
  • Fawad Ahmed
  • Ghulam Sarwar Khan
  • Hammad Azhar
  • Imran Khattak
  • Kanwal Shauzab
  • Malik Muhammad Amir Dogar
  • Mansoor Hayat Khan
  • Muhammad Alamgir Khan
  • Muhammad Aslam Khan
  • Muhammad Najeeb Haroon
  • Murad Saeed
  • Noorul Haq Qadri
  • Omar Ayub Khan
  • Pervaiz Khattak
  • Qasim Khan Suri
  • Raja Khurram Shahzad Nawaz
  • Sadaqat Ali Khan
  • Saifur Rehman
  • Sanaullah Khan Mastikhel
  • Shafqat Mahmood
  • Shah Mahmood Qureshi
  • Sheharyar Afridi
  • Sheikh Rashid Shafique
  • Syed Ali Haider Zaidi
  • Zartaj Gul
  • Sheikh Rashid Ahmed

Arrests and Bans: PTI Faces Political Crisis

The arrest of several party leaders and supporters has also accompanied the resignations within PTI. Furthermore, the government is considering banning PTI due to the attacks on defense installations during the protests. This situation has heightened tensions between Imran Khan’s supporters and the military establishment, further complicating the political dynamics in the country.

Meanwhile, the National Assembly Speaker initiated a verification process for the resignations of PTI lawmakers. However, Imran Khan advised his party members not to cooperate with the speaker, perceiving it as a trap. As a result, the acceptance of resignations remains pending, leaving some lawmakers needing clarification.

PTI Party Faces Ban and Internal Disputes

Amidst these developments, preparations are underway for by-elections on one National Assembly seat and two Punjab Assembly seats, scheduled for September 11. PTI and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) members vacated these seats for various reasons, including resignation and disqualification.

The sequence of resignations within PTI and the internal disputes within the party has significant implications for its leadership, popularity, and upcoming elections. The departures of influential figures, such as Shireen Mazari, Fawad Chaudhry, and Asad Umar, have damaged PTI’s cohesion and strength. The criticism of violent protests and the party’s challenges have raised questions about its future trajectory and electoral prospects.


In conclusion, the series of resignations within PTI, coupled with the internal disputes and confrontations, have profoundly impacted the party’s leadership and political positioning. These developments have led to uncertainties about PTI’s future, its ability to maintain popular support, and the implications for upcoming elections. The political landscape in Pakistan continues to evolve as PTI grapples with the repercussions of these resignations and navigates the challenges ahead.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here